Beagle and Wolf Books & Bindery Newletter
         Books and News to Give You Paws
   



 
June 2019


Page One | Staff Picks | Youth Yak | Book Groups News



June will be full of bookish activity!




book coverNickolas Butler
June 1, 5:00 pm at Bella Caffé

We’re thrilled to be hosting an event with Nick Butler in June! Nick’s previous novels, Shotgun Lovesongs and The Hearts of Men, were favorites of staff and customers alike, and we know you’ll love his latest book, too. Little Faith is the story of Lyle and Peg Hovde, who live a quiet life in rural Wisconsin. Years earlier, their infant son died, creating a quiet crisis of faith for Lyle. Life went on, and soon he and Peg adopted a daughter, Shiloh, who left home as soon as she could. She’s back now, with a five year old son, Isaac. Lyle and Peg dote on the boy and have settled into a comfortable routine with him and his mother. However, Shiloh becomes infatuated with the leader of an almost cultish church in nearby La Crosse. Her parents worry about her, and particularly about Isaac, whom they think Shiloh’s boyfriend is using for his own purposes. The book is beautifully written and the characters dealing with issues of faith, doubt, and family seem like people you might know. book coverbook cover

 

This event will be next door, in the atrium at Bella Caffé. Join us as we welcome Nick to Park Rapids and hear about Little Faith.




Author Fest: Beagle and Wolf Books

Author Fest is coming!
June 15, 11:00 to 3:00!

We’ll host over 25 Minnesota authors at our signature summer event, Author Fest. It’s outgrown the store, so we’ll be at the American Legion, 900 E. 1st St. (Highway 34.) Stop in to visit with authors, discover your new favorite author, hear readings, and buy autographed copies of books. A schedule of readings and a list of the authors who will be at Author Festincluding a readings schedule is on the Events Page of our web site as well as in the store.

books on shelvesPlease don’t bring books with you to Author Fest. 

Books for the event are still arriving; many are already here…

Author appearances are subject to change.




book coverLorna Landvik

June 29, 5:00

The incomparable Lorna Landvik and her latest book, Chronicles of a Radical Hag, will join us at Bella Caffe’ for an entertaining author talk and signing.

Here’s what our colleague, Pamela Klinger-Horn from Excelsior Bay Books, says about Chronicles of a Radical Hag:

"With a sprinkle of some very special Minnesota magic, Lorna Landvik has once again created an absolute delight on the page. Chronicles of a Radical Hag is a tribute to hardworking journalists, the power of feminism, and, as always, the importance of friends and family. Book clubs will be gathering with platters of Almond Crescents and coffee as they talk long into the night.”

Jen and Lorna


We agree! Join us on June 29 to meet Lorna Landvik!

 

 

 

Jen with Lorna Lankvik after the publication of
Once in a Blue Moon Lodge.




book coverHeid Erdrich
Reading and book signing, June 29, 6:30
Heid ErdrichNemeth Art Center

Heid E. Erdrich is a poet, writer, and interdisciplinary artist.She edited the recent anthology New Poets of Native Nations.She is also the author of six books of poetry and a non-fiction work, Original Local: Indigenous Foods, Stories, and Recipes from the Upper Midwest.Heid is Ojibwe, enrolled at Turtle Mountain. We’ll be selling Heid’s books at the event. The Nemeth Art Center is located at 301 Court Ave in Park Rapids, two blocks west of the store.

 

 



strawberry pie

The 13th Annual July 4 Pie Baking Contest and Auction

We want to give you a heads up that there will be time changes to the Pie Baking Contest and Auction this year. The Chamber of Commerce has moved the start time for the July 4th parade to 11:00. This year, the pie auction will FOLLOW the parade (we’re thinking 2ish.) We’re still working with the Chamber on the timing. Complete details of the contest and auction will be on our website, facebook page, and in the store closer to July 4th.

 




book coverJust released!

Stone Gathering: A Reader, a quarterly collection of poems, small fictions, and essayettes from French Press Editions (“portable, affordable, collectible literature”), an imprint of Danielle Dufy Literary, a new small press founded and owned by Brainerd Lakes native, Deborah Jacobs.
Stone Gathering’s contributors range from Wendell Berry to Linda LeGarde Grover, from John Edgar Wideman to Ross Gay, from Naomi Shihab Nye to Park Rapids’ own Thomas Stetzler. Stone Gathering has been called “a beautiful garden, with a gate wide open” (Ross Gay) and “a pocket-sized life raft” (Judith Kissner, Scout & Morgan Books).

If you like books you can fall back on; if you appreciate the way a line of poetry, a strong idea, a meaningful story can shore you up (or call you out!); if you like to hold beautiful, powerful words in your heart, or carry them in your pocket, or sometimes let them stir you to action, this book, this series, is for you.

Publisher Deborah Jacobs will be at Author Fest with copies of Stone Gathering.



Great Books to Pre-Order!

Got your eye on an upcoming book? Pre-ordering it from us couldn’t be easier! Let us know the book you’d like, we’ll order it for you, and you can pick it up in the store the day the book releases, or we’ll mail it to you. Here are two upcoming books you may be interested in.


book cover


This Tender Land

William Kent Krueger

Sally recently read an advance copy of This Tender Land. Here’s her review of it:

Krueger has stepped away from the Cork O’Connor series to give us an adventure story set in 1932, during the Great Depression. Four years before the book begins, orphans Odie and Albert O’Banion had been sent to Lincoln School, an Indian Boarding School in Minnesota. (In a dark chapter in American history, the U.S. government attempted to assimilate Native American children by separating them from their families, culture, language, and religion and ‘educating’ them in boarding schools. Life in these schools was grim, and children were subject to physical, sexual, and emotional abuse.) Odie was initially timid, but four years at Lincoln School formed him into a rebellious 12-year old. After a shattering encounter with a sadistic staff member Odie, Albert, their friend Mose, and Emmy, a little girl who had just been orphaned, ran away. They started down the river in a canoe which had belonged to Emmy’s father, heading for the Mississippi River and a place to call home.

Over the summer, the children made an epic journey, reminiscent of Huck Finn’s raft trip down the Mississippi. The travelers, who called themselves the Vagabond, lived by their wits as they encountered a variety of people and situations, including an itinerant group of faith healers, residents of a Hooverville, and tugboat operators.

As an old man, Odie recounts the story of their journey, recalling it as a formative experience in each of their lives.

book cover


Although the stories are unrelated, Krueger calls This Tender Land a companion to his earlier book, Ordinary Grace.

The book will be released September 3; we are accepting pre-orders now. In a scheduling quirk, Krueger will be at Beagle and Wolf on August 29 for a signing—yes, before the release date for the book. We will have copies of the book available that day.

  book cover

William Kent Krueger during a visit
to the store last September.

 

     
book cover  

 

Nothing More Dangerous
Allen Eskens

Allen Esken’s new book, Nothing More Dangerous, will be released in November. That’s a long way out, but spending a week with Allen during his tour of the libraries in the Kitchigami system whetted our appetites for another book by him! Nothing More Dangerous is a coming of age story, centered on Boady Sanden, a minor character in The Life We Bury. Click on the book cover to read the publisher’s description of the book.




May Bestsellers

Book covers are linked to our online store, where you’ll find a description of each book.

book cover book cover book cover book cover book cover book cover

The Life We Bury
Allen Eskens

 

The Girl in
Building C

Mary Krugerud

 

The Guise of Another
Allen Eskens

 

The Shadows We Hide
Allen Eskens

 

American Heart
Laura Moriarty

 

The Heavens May Fall
Allen Eskens

           
book cover   book cover  

book cover

  book cover   book cover   book cover

Where the Crawdads Sing
Delia Owens

 

Birds of Minnesota
Stan Tekiela

 

Desolation Mountain
William Kent Krueger

 

The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Heather Morris

 

Cranford
Elizabeth Gaskell

  Warlight
Michael Ondaatje
                     
    book cover   book cover   book cover   book cover    

 

 

Norse Mythology
Neil Gaiman

 

Clock Dance
Anne Tyler

 

The Huntress
Kate Quinn

 

The Deep Dark Descending
Allen Eskens

   

Sally, Allen, and Jen
    In May, Allen Eskens toured libraries in the Kitchigami System and asked us
along to sell books. Here we are in the Wadena Library.
   
 


Midwest Connections logo

Midwest Connection Picks



 
 

book cover

Loudermilk: or The Real Poet or The Origin of the World
Lucy Ives

​A tale of two idiots—the handsome, charismatic Troy Augustus Loudermilk and his unassuming, socially anxious friend Harry Rego—who, in the early days of the new millennium, scam their way into a fellowship at the most prestigious creative writing program in the country.  

 

 
 


book cover

The Summer Demands
Deborah Shapiro

On the verge of her fortieth birthday, and shaken by a recent miscarriage, Emily inherits an abandoned summer camp in Massachusetts and discovers a magnetic young woman living undetected in a cabin whose presence will force her to question everything she thought she knew.


 
 


book cover

Reflections on a Life in Exile
J. F. Riordan

Written in lyrical prose, Reflections on a Life in Exile captures and magnifies the passing beauty of the ordinary and the extraordinary that lingers near the surface of daily life. Although not about dogs, the book is permeated with dog stories, a love of nature, and an almost mystical sense of wonder.

 

 
 


book cover

The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair
Amy Makechnie

A ten-year-old girl is determined to find her missing neighbor, but the answers lead her to places and people she never expected—and maybe even one she’s been running away from—in this gorgeous debut novel that’s perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish.

 
 


— page top —

 
 

Page One | Staff Picks | Youth Yak | Book Groups News


 
 

BeagleAndWolf.com

 
About Us|Book Groups|Events|Bindery|Newsletter|Place an Order|Life in Community   
Midwest Connections|How to Find Us|Contact Us|Links|Home

 

Newsletter Archives

 

 



BeagleandWolf.com Copyright 2015 Beagle and Wolf Books & Bindery: Designed by Hannah Jennings Design